Kangana Ranaut To Jaya Bachchan: Bollywood Actors Who Joined Politics

From Kangana Ranaut to Jaya Bachchan and Hema Malini, here's the list of Bollywood celebrities who joined politics.

The news of Bollywood actress Kangana Ranaut’s decision to contest in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections stirred excitement on social media, marking her entry into politics. Ranaut’s move adds an interesting twist to the longstanding trend of actors venturing into the political arena. Let’s delve into the stories of some notable actors who have successfully transitioned from the silver screen to politics.

Bollywood Actors Who Joined Politics

Kangana Ranaut

Kangana Ranaut, a recipient of four National Film Awards, began her acting journey with Mahesh Bhatt’s “Gangster” in 2006. Recently, she was declared as the Lok Sabha candidate by the BJP for the Mandi constituency in Himachal Pradesh.

Jaya Bachchan- Amitabh Bachchan

Currently serving as the Rajya Sabha MP for the Samajwadi Party, Jaya Bachchan was initially elected as a Member of Parliament from Uttar Pradesh in 2004. Meanwhile, Amitabh Bachchan ran for the Lok Sabha elections from the Allahabad constituency in 1984. He emerged victorious, defeating former UP CM HN Bahuguna with one of the largest victory margins in Indian electoral history, securing 68.2% of the votes.

Hema Malini

Bollywood veteran Hema Malini currently serves as the BJP MP from Mathura. Previously, she held the position of Rajya Sabha MP after being nominated by the former President of India, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam.

Sunny Deol

Sunny Deol, celebrated for his memorable performances in movies such as “Gadar” and “Border,” presently serves as the BJP MP for the Gurdaspur constituency. He secured victory by a margin of 82,459 votes in the 2019 elections.

Shatrughan Sinha

Shatrughan Sinha presently serves as the TMC MP for West Bengal’s Asansol constituency. Previously, he represented the Patna Sahib constituency as a Member of Parliament from 2009 to 2019.

Smriti Irani

The former actress currently holds the position of Minister of Women and Child Development since 2019. In the same year, she defeated Rahul Gandhi in the Amethi constituency.

Kirron Kher

Kirron Kher began her acting journey in the Punjab film industry. Currently, she represents the Chandigarh constituency as a BJP MP. She has been honored with two National Film Awards and has received four Filmfare Award nominations.

ALSO READ: Bollywood Actors Who Got Married ‘Secretly’!