- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Soorarai Pottru Bags 5 Accolades At 68th National Film Awards

Sudha Kongara directorial Soorarai Pottru won five awards at the 68th national film awards.

Tamil movie Soorarai Pottru bagged most awards at the 68th National film awards. The movie stars Suriya as Nedumaaran Rajangam and Aparna Balamurali as Sundari. Both the lead role won awards for best actor and best actress respectively. Ajay Devgn also won the award for best actor for the role played in the Hindi film Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior.

Alongside, the movie also won the award for Best feature film, Best screenplay (original) which was handled by Shalini Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara, and Best Music Direction which was handled by GV Prakash Kumar.

Actor Suriya penned a heartfelt note informing and thanking his fans for the Five National awards. He also thanked his wife who insisted him to produce and act in the movie. The note read, “Vanakkam! My heartfelt thanks for all the love and good wishes that has reached to us and enriched our lives so far. The overwhelming reception for our film, which was released directly on OTT during a pandemic, has made our eyes well up in joy. Our happiness is doubled at this National recognition for Soorarai Pottru, as it is a testimony of Sudha Kongara’s many years of hard work and creative vision of Captain Gopinath’s story.”

Actor Akshay Kumar took his Twitter handle for congratulating the win of Soorarai Pottru at the 68th National Film Awards. For the unversed, Akshay is remaking the award-winning film in Hindi and Suriya will be playing a cameo role in the Hindi Version. Akshay wrote, “Over the moon to see Soorarai Pottru win the top honours at the National Awards. Heartfelt congratulations my brother @Suriya_offl, Aparna Balamurali and my director Sudha Kongara. Humbled to be working in the Hindi adaption of such an iconic film.”

Soorarai Pottru was released through Amazon Prime Video on 12th November 2020 during the Covid-19 pandemic. The movie was released in Malayalam and Kannada with its dubbed versions while in Telugu as Aakasam Nee Haddu Raa (The Sky Is The Limit) which was released on 4th April 2021.

Also Read: Akshay Kumar To Remake Soorarai Pottru: Know Interesting Facts About The Original Film

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories