- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Spanish La Liga Confirm Season Will Restart On June 11

Last week the Spanish government gave La Liga the green light to resume from the week starting June 8. Read below to know more.

The Spanish league season will restart on June 11 with the Seville derby after a three-month coronavirus lockdown and the 2020-2021 season will commence on September 12, the Spanish Sports Council announced on Friday. The council released a statement saying the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) and La Liga had agreed on the schedule for the remaining 11 rounds in the top two divisions in Spain.

It said the season would be over by July 19, “depending on the pandemic’s evolution.” The competition will kick-off when Betis play Sevilla on Thursday, June 11. The rest of the league will get back into action on the weekend of June 13 and 14.

Javier Tebas, the league president told Marca, “The important thing will be to know the end date of the 2019-20 season. The next one will start on September 12.”

Last week the Spanish government gave La Liga the green light to restart from the week beginning June 8. Tebas further added, “More than 130 people are currently working so that everything can be done in a new format: the travel, the organisation, everything.”

After its restart earlier this month, the German Bundesliga has already played three rounds, while the English Premier League and Italy’s Serie A are also set to return in mid-June. But the top-flight seasons have all ended in France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

Barcelona led Real Madrid were at the top of the table by two points when La Liga was halted in March.

Tebas also said television audiences would be able to choose to watch matches whether it be played behind closed doors, with added virtual sound effects, an option that has caused fans to debate since the Bundesliga resumed.

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories