IPL 2020: David Warner Announced As The Captain Of Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner replaces Kane Williamson to take on the captaincy of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Read below to know his reaction.

On Thursday, Sunriser Hyderabad announced Australia’s iconic batsman David Warner as the captain of their side for the upcoming edition of the IPL (Indian Premier League).

The SRH franchise shared the news on Twitter and said, “#OrangeArmy, our captain for #IPL2020 is @davidwarner31.”

Along with the Twitter post, the franchise also posted a video of David Warner, in which the fiery batsman said, “I am thrilled to be given the captaincy for this coming IPL, I am grateful for this opportunity, I would like to thank Kane Williamson and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for leading the side last year. I would try my best to help the side lift the trophy this year.”

In the 2019 IPL season, Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson led SRH Team for a few matches. Even India pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar captained the team.

For the unversed, David Warner was the skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad till the 2017 IPL edition but he had to step down from the position owing to the Sandpaper Gate issue.

In the year 2018, David Warner alongside Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft were handed a one-year ban for their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa at Cape Town.